Oraukura 3 Incorporation

Committee of Management

The Committee of Management is charged with managing the interests of Oraukura shareholders. It comprises five members elected for a three year term by Oraukura shareholders at the annual general meeting. The Chairperson is elected annually by the committee members, and the committee governs according to Part XIII of the Te Ture Whenua Maori Land Act 1993, and the Incorporation’s constitution, policies and planning documents.

Committee of Management Members

All current Oraukura Committee of Management members sit on a number of other Tuwharetoa land trusts and incorporations. The collective experience and knowledge generated from these other governance roles, provides the basis for robust and considered discussions regarding how the Committee can uphold and advance the best interests of Oraukura’s shareholders.

John Mariu (Chairman)

John was elected a committee of management member in 1967. His significant wealth of historical and local knowledge makes John an extremely valued member of the Committee. John has “semi” retired in Turangi after a long career in hospitality and hotel management, but is still active in local hapu issues and the local business community.

John Hura

John was elected a committee of management member in 2000. He has lived in the Taupo district since 1988 and is a Planning Manager for New Zealand Forest Managers Limited. John holds a number of governance roles in the district including on the Lake Taupo Protection Trust, Taupo nui-a-tia Management Board and the Tongariro School Board of Trustees.

William Konui

William was elected a committee of management member in 2006. His knowledge and experience in the Agribusiness is well sought after, evidenced by his current appointment to various other Tuwharetoa/Whanganui land entities, director of Maui Milk Limited, Wools of Aotearoa and Manaaki Farming Partnership.

Dominic Otimi

Dominic was elected a committee of management member in 2001. As a school leaver, Dom worked on farms and as an operator of heavy machinery around the country. He then returned home and spent the next 21 years sheep and beef farming, including a 5 year stint in the wool industry.

Michelle Taiaroa

Michelle was elected a Committee of Management member in 2014.  She was born and raised in Turangi and currently works for the Tuwharetoa Maori Trust Board in Finance/ Administration. She has been involved in tribal activities all of her life.

“ My whanau has been involved with Oraukara since my Great Grandfather Joe Hoko who sat on the previous Board  and they would always say  “you have a duty to care for these taonga and make it beneficial to the people. I am very humbled to be a part of this incorporation and hope to grow our assets to benefit our people”